Make Room

Standard

We are the type of family that opens most of our Christmas gifts on Christmas eve. It is our tradition to read the story of Christ’s birth before we start the mayhem of opening gifts.

I can hardly get through the story without being choked up and moved by the birth of our Savior in a lowly manger. When I was a child; and well into adulthood, I was under the impression that the “innkeeper” was not a kind or generous man. So stingy was he that Mary and Joseph ended up in a barn with the animals. He just didn’t want to make room for the King in his inn or in his heart.

This year, I’m challenged to take another look at this story. I’m re-orienting my thinking to what the text actually says; and doing some of Biblical research. I think I applied modern sensibilities and assumptions; rather than a Biblical understanding of what actually happened in the story.

Here is what Luke 2:1-7 says:

 In those days Caesar Augustus issued a decree that a census should be taken of the entire Roman world. (This was the first census that took place while Quirinius was governor of Syria.) And everyone went to their own town to register. So Joseph also went up from the town of Nazareth in Galilee to Judea, to Bethlehem the town of David, because he belonged to the house and line of DavidHe went there to register with Mary, who was pledged to be married to him and was expecting a child. While they were there, the time came for the baby to be born, and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because there was no guest room available for them.

Bethlehem was Joseph’s hometown. When the census was decreed; he went back to his ancestral roots. Joseph had family living in Bethlehem. (Micah 5:2-4) Naturally, when he arrived in Bethlehem; he sought out family and a place to stay.

The population of Bethlehem swelled during the census. Weary travelers arriving in their ancestral city; seeking a bed or a meal with distant relatives. Rooms were scarce.

When Joseph and Mary arrived in Bethlehem; the rooms in the relatives’ home were already spoken for. No one knew that Mary carried the Messiah in her womb. The young couple were not being rejected or turned away. On the contrary, the relative offered to make room for them.

In our modern minds, offering a place with the livestock seems like an insult. However, livestock were valuable commodities in ancient times. Often the stable was adjoining the main house; so the family could guard their animals. This was no insult. In fact, it was generosity. His house, already overflowing with distant relatives; had one last nook available. The man of the house made room for the little family.

From Thanksgiving to Christmas; life is a whirlwind of activity. Shopping, baking, wrapping, visiting, decorating. All these activities on top of our everyday activities make for a busy season. Our schedules are full.

As I hustle through my day, checking items off my to-do list; is there room for Christ? Have I made room for people? Is it more important to complete my list or to connect with someone? Is there room in my schedule for the Holy Spirit to speak?

Yesterday, I was at a local custom frame shop. I’m familiar with the owner as she has made several frame for artwork in our home. As I looked through frames and moldings, anxious to get this task checked off my list and move on with my day; I asked how she had been doing. Tears welled up in her eyes as she said that her father passed away about 10 days ago. She began to tell me about him and his life.

In that moment, the Holy Spirit spoke to my heart. “Listen to her”. I obeyed. I listened.

I want to encourage you this Christmas time to make room.

Make room for Christ.

Make room for the hurting.

Make room in your heart and home.

Leave a comment