Promises, Promises

Standard

Broken Promises

2 Corinthians 1:20 For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ. And so through him the “Amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God.

My son asked me recently if he could have his buddy, Josh, over for an afternoon of guy time (i.e. LEGOS, Wii, snacks, running in our meadow). I said my usual “Let me ask daddy and check the family calendar.”

“Promise?”

“Promise what?”

“Promise that Josh can come over.”

“I’m not promising that. I have to check our schedule.”

“You always say that and then we never have time.”

Sigh. He is right. We have a busy schedule. Four kids and their activities plus my husband’s schedule; then add my schedule to the mix; all that can make for a full calendar. We even keep our kid’s activities limited so we can have most of our dinners together and keep our criss-crossing of the Carson Valley to a minimum. Our triplets attend Jr. High and our oldest attends High School…18 miles apart. We do a lot of driving.

What struck me was his perception that I didn’t keep my promises; promises that I am careful NOT to make. I’m a big chicken. I don’t like making promises that I am fairly certain I can’t keep. I don’t even make New Year’s Resolutions. I know that by January 3rd; it’s all over. I’m going to eat the chocolate.

When I was a girl, I made lots of promises. My best friend, Patty, and I made all kinds of promises about being friends forever. We even promised that if either of us died; then the other would get all of our stuff. (Okay, what kind of morbid child was I?) I know I engaged in lots of “pinky swears”. What was I promising; I can’t recall. Childhood promises are easily forgotten.

As an adult, the few promises I have made include my wedding vows and the promise to raise my children according to God’s Word to the best of my ability. That’s pretty much it.

When we look in God’s Word, we find the promises of God. Lots of them. The beauty of a God-breathed promise: it will not be broken. Ever.

Here are a few of the Lord’s promises. (In no particular order)

  • Reconciliation
  • Forgiveness of sins
  • A helper-Holy Spirit
  • Love
  • Strength/endurance in difficulty
  • Daily provision
  • Hears prayers
  • Daily help with burdens
  • Escape from temptation
  • Wisdom
  • Rest
  • Peace
  • Comfort
  • Never leave you
  • Guidance
  • Eternal life
  • Heaven

God made a lot of promises and He kept them. He fulfilled every single one in the person of Jesus Christ. Christ is the “Yes” to God’s promises.

 God is a promise keeper. He is faithful to His promises when we are not. We are the beneficiaries of His promises through Christ. His grace and faithfulness allows us to say “Amen!”

Now, we have a tendency to reduce the word “amen” to a simple “So be it”; but the meaning is deeper than that. According to Baker’s Dictionary of Biblical Theology, “The idea of something that is faithful, reliable, or believable seems to lie behind the use of amen”.

So when we say “amen” to the promises of God, we are saying “That’s the truth!”

Look at the verse now:

2 Corinthians 1:20 For no matter how many promises God has made, they are completely fulfilled in Christ (the “yes”). And so through Him, “That’s the truth” is spoken by us to the glory of God.

Take courage, my friend. You may be going through the fight of your life. You may be floating on cloud nine right now. Your circumstances could change tomorrow, in a split second. Rest assured, God is unchanging. He is steadfast. He is faithful. He is a promise keeper. That’s the truth!

Leave a Reply

