The Apple of God’s Eye

Standard

I’m the apple of God’s eye.  What an amazing thought! I am still working through the Beth Moore “Breaking Free” study and this particular week, I came across this verse.  Zechariah 2:8 “For this is what the Lord Almighty says: ‘After he has honored me and has sent me against the nations that have plundered you–for whoever touches you touches the apple of His eye–.'”  So, whatever someone does to a child of God, is actually doing it to the Lord.  This is such a sobering fact.  Beth Moore discussed this concerning child abuse and victimization.  This lead to me wonder about the meaning of the phrase “apple of the eye”.  So, I looked it up in Strong’s Hebrew Dictionary.  The Hebrew word that represent the phrase “apple of the eye” is “ishon”, pronounced ‘eeshone’; which means the pupil of the eye, the center of vision.  So, if someone persecutes, abuses, or treats badly a child of God, he is, in essence, poking God in the eye! I don’t know about you; but I don’t want to be poking God in the eye!  This gives me pause to examine my heart about how I treat and speak to my fellow believers.

Well, now I was on a mission.  Where else in the Bible is the phrase “apple of your eye”?  There were two other verses I found.  The first is Proverbs 7:2 “Keep my commands and you will live; guard my teachings as the apple of your eye.” The Lord is saying to keep His commands and statutes in your line of sight.  Keep them in front of you as a light, a guide, a compass for living.  The blessing of this is that you will live, spiritually and in eternity.

The next scripture was found in Psalm 17:8 “Keep me as the apple of your eye, hide me in the shadow of your wings.”  I love this!  David is asking the Lord to keep him in the center of the Lord’s vision, to protect and shield him.  If you have ever seen a hen with her little chicks, you can get a good idea of what David is saying.  The little chicks are quite defenseless, they hide, clustered under the wings and body of the mother hen for protection and warmth.  They may venture out for food but when they feel alarmed, they scurry quickly back to the safety of their mother.  She is ever watchful, knowing all the movements of her little ones. The Lord is always aware of what his precious children are doing.  We are in the center of his vision.

You are the apple of God’s eye.

About yennybug

I am a wife, mother of 4, follower of Christ. I love to cook, collect & read cookbooks, laugh with my family & friends. I could not ask for a more blessed life. I am a friend of God.

Leave a Reply

